PDA

View Full Version : intermittant wipers

McGuyver_3
04-20-2006, 02:57 PM
Hi everybody
I am interested in getting the intermittant wiper switch for my 3. I currently do not have the auto sensing wiper unit. All i want to know is if i can buy the switch so i can control the speed of the wipers manually as apposed to needing the whole auto sensing unit.
Any kind of help would be great

Thanks

TheProfessor
04-21-2006, 08:55 AM
If I\'m not mistake the switch controls the sensitivity of the sensor on the windshield, so just adding the switch alone shouldn\'t do anything. Having said that, I do believe there are aftermarket intermittent wiper modules, but I have no personal experience with them.

McGuyver_3
04-21-2006, 03:40 PM
HMMM i have seen the intermitant wiper modules on ebay but i would like to retain the stock switch and modules. More like plug and play. Myabe if i find a car in the wrecker i will see if they sell me the module and the wiring for it and make it myself lol.

TheProfessor
04-21-2006, 03:51 PM
Just be sure to check that the module and the windshield are not one piece.....if I\'m not mistaken they are and the modules cannot be transferred from one windshield to the other. I think I read that in the cracked windshield thread somewhere.

McGuyver_3
04-21-2006, 04:08 PM
I am going to look deeper in to that and when i find a solution i will get back to you on this one. But thank you for the input

SABIO
04-21-2006, 10:40 PM
Talk to Joe (Flipspeed). See if the Wiper control can be swapped in from a different model ( like a tribute?).

McGuyver_3
04-22-2006, 01:49 AM
will do thanks

FLIPDADY
04-22-2006, 02:59 PM
Well all 3 models have the same wiper motor. So the intermitant feature might be controlled by the switch on the steering column.

What does your wiper switch have on it right now?

McGuyver_3
04-22-2006, 04:08 PM