PDA

View Full Version : MS CAI cleaning

lancesir
07-17-2007, 12:10 AM
Hey guys,

I'm a newbie and a new 3 owner, but just reading the existing threads it seems like there's a gazillion mods I want to do already!

I think I'll start by getting the MS CAI but I want to know how easy is it to take out the filter and clean it? Do you have to pull it out from the driver side wheel well? Or is there a easier way to get to it?

And also, will the CAI interfere with rustproofing? IIRC the CAI routes down and out of the engine bay, so I'm worried rustproof oil spray may get on the filter. Anyone have a problem with this?

Thanks!

whiteomega
07-17-2007, 09:10 AM
from what i've seen, you pretty much have to get at it from the wheel well.

the CAI is protected from underspray by a plastic panel that clips in under the engine undercover; as long as that isn't removed during the rustproofing, you'll be fine, but you will need to remove it to get at the filter.

Magitronic
07-17-2007, 10:33 AM
Cleaning it isnt the easiest thing but its not bad... I clean mine when I change the oil ... not sure how often it recommends but it takes a bit of time becuz you pretty much need to jack up the car, remove the front driver side wheel and then remove the covers and such. Prolly looking at about a hour of work. Reason I said to do it when you do your oil change is becuz if you change your oil yourself you can just clean the filter etc well the oil is draining.

MattC
07-17-2007, 11:37 AM
It all depends on how you install it, if you install it with the screw that holds the filter on the pipe facing towards the wheel well then yes its probably possible. but if you don't, then it might be more difficult as you don't get much clearance through the wheel well.

rcd001
07-17-2007, 10:15 PM
If it is like the Injen, it uses a K and N filter. Through normal driving once every 6 months should be fine. It costs about $60 to get it done at most garages.

lancesir
07-18-2007, 08:35 AM