PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions requested for more power

colinjw
08-31-2007, 10:31 AM
I am new to Mazdas. I am looking at a 2006 Mazda3 with a 2.3 engine with
automatic and about 30,000 k. I love the way it handles and the power is not too bad.
However I would like to have some more H.P.
I like to know I can pass a truck on the highway if I get cut off.
Any suggestions as to how to add some more power without getting into any too expensive or exotic.
BTW. I am older now & not looking for a loud exhaust or anything way out.
Hopefully something that does not even show.

Suggestions ??

Cardinal Fang
08-31-2007, 10:43 AM
Welcome to the board. Have a look around the different sections of the board you will find alot of information that will interest you. There are many discussion about just what you've mentioned.

midnightfxgt
08-31-2007, 10:43 AM
If your looking for power mods your best bet is Intake, Header and Exhaust. Problem is, all of those will increase how your car sounds. There is no way around it.

Kevin@nextmod
08-31-2007, 10:55 AM
Another way is to find another car that comes fast stock.....

Sean80
08-31-2007, 05:29 PM
get a manual instead of slow-matic :p

EvilDeadFan
09-02-2007, 09:16 AM
You KNOW you want to turbo. ;)
Or a handy upgrade to a manual car.. a mazdaspeed manual car... ;)

WeatherB
09-02-2007, 09:43 AM
I doubt anything cheap would give you the power you are looking for.

A turbo definitely would give you the power, but would also cost you around $5000. You might also have some problems with your automatic transmission not handling the power.

Now that the Mazdaspeed rates have kit rockbottom, the car should be very affordable.

Seliina
09-02-2007, 09:54 AM
I am new to Mazdas. I am looking at a 2006 Mazda3 with a 2.3 engine with
automatic and about 30,000 k. I love the way it handles and the power is not too bad.
However I would like to have some more H.P.
I like to know I can pass a truck on the highway if I get cut off.