PDA

View Full Version : Black Sport GT - Does it scratch/chip easily?

Scotticus
02-23-2008, 12:06 PM
Hello everyone,

Sorry if this is a stupid question (I'm a newbie here), but I've heard a few times that the 3 in black suffers from easy scratching/chipping on the exterior. Has anyone heard, or had any experience with this?

I'm looking to purchase a black 3, but I wanted to confirm if the easy-scratch rumours were true.

Any help and info is appreciated!

Cheers

Niteshade
02-23-2008, 12:32 PM
Black on any car is going to show scratches and chips more than other colours, just the reality of the darker the colour the more you see surface flaws, especially with a glossy surface.

That being said, there have been a number of threads discussing thin/easily scratched paint with the 3 (check the search function).

There are options available to help protect your paint as well: clear bra (invisible paint film), deflectors, even a good sealant and wax will help.

nicker
02-23-2008, 01:03 PM
I agree I wouldn't say it chips or scratches easier its just more noticble on a dark car.

I have the carbon grey and it does show scratches easier, you just have to take good care of it.

Scratch doctor!!!!!!

chinsterr
02-23-2008, 01:13 PM
the paint on all mazdas are crap. Just a heads up

Videcak
02-23-2008, 01:33 PM
the paint on all mazdas are crap. Just a heads up

Paint on all new cars under $50,000 blows, not just Mazda. Its all the environmentalists whining about new cars should be using environmentally friendly paint.

-RJ3-
02-23-2008, 08:01 PM
Agree!! All paints in mazda are shitty. So regardless having a black car or not will scratch as easily as a sandmica colour car. The difference is, the black is noticeable. The advantage to a black car, is it has a deep shine when washed and waxed.

b
02-23-2008, 08:06 PM
I have a black one. I wish I had the pearl white. The black just shows way too many defects.

yearoftherat
02-24-2008, 11:10 AM