PDA

View Full Version : installation help

Phil
01-05-2009, 02:22 PM
Hello everyone, im not too experienced with car audio and a friend of mine threw a 10'' sub and 700watt amp my way. He doesnt want them in his new car. Anyway, I need to keep my stock head unit, and its not a mono amp. Other than the obvious things i need to purchase like a rca adapter and wiring what other tips do you guys have for me to ensure my sub is going to pump hard. Also do i need to run a ground wire through thhe firewall into the engine?? (so im told) cant i just tie into the ground for the HU? any help is appreciated i'd like to do this myself it cant be that complicated; Just wondering the most efficient way to get some more bass into my system. sorry for sounding like a fool im just a noob wen it comes to audio

skunk2
01-05-2009, 03:06 PM
you'll need an amp wiring kit and LOC. try to get a 4ga kit if your budget allows just in case you want to upgrade the amp or add a second later.

depending on where you are mounting the amp, you can ground in that vicinity. lots of grounding spots in the trunk or if you place the amp under the front seat there's a few options there too. you can also run ground straight from your batt. but that's up to you.
you'll need more wire this way and the cost just goes up.

please don't ground your amp to the HU...not sufficient.
you run can your power thru the grommet behind the glove box.
do you have an enclosure for the sub already?

and research some more.....what you are trying to accomplish have been discussed many times.

Phil
01-06-2009, 02:22 AM