PDA

View Full Version : 2009 is here and I'm ready to burn rubber, waste brake pad, and make racing noises

bhrm
01-23-2009, 03:08 PM
This is the year I start.

My plans are to auto-x 2-3 times this year and one lapping event. I have very little experience, been on the Shannonville full track in an automatic heavy pig mk4 Jetta VR6 in heavy rain.

Here's my car's racing setup:
stock
stock tires with this summer as its last season

That is all.

What's everyone plan and outlook for 2009? Any events I should consider with my awesome racing setup?

Dave_The_BMXER
01-23-2009, 04:25 PM
I want to hit up some Auto X's this year, just have no idea which ones to do. I want to do the 1 event ones not a series as I often have commitments on weekends.

I am way to scared for track days.

condor888000
01-23-2009, 04:33 PM
I'm planning on doing every local event this year(should be 10), and am debating going to some of the CADL events in Montreal and maybe a couple of St Lac events depending on how the summer goes.

Hopefully. Can't wait for summer to get here. :bana2

bhrm
01-23-2009, 10:27 PM
I want to hit up some Auto X's this year, just have no idea which ones to do. I want to do the 1 event ones not a series as I often have commitments on weekends.

I am way to scared for track days.

i've observed and rode shot gun at a few track days, biggest thing is going with a legit club with legit people and not a track day with rich kids who have nothing to lose and no clue what to do other than applying GranTurismo 4 skills into real world physics.

Fuman
01-23-2009, 11:14 PM
i've observed and rode shot gun at a few track days, biggest thing is going with a legit club with legit people and not a track day with rich kids who have nothing to lose and no clue what to do other than applying GranTurismo 4 skills into real world physics.
BHRM is VERY VERY Correct. You are putting yourself in danger.
I went with my friend who said it is going to be very organized, not the case.