PDA

View Full Version : K&N VS. AEM CAI

Snotrocket
06-13-2010, 09:25 PM
I have been browsing online for a CAI for my 2010 MS3. So far my options seem limited to either AEM's ( http://www.aemintakes.com/search/product.aspx?Prod=21-642C ) or K & N's ( http://www.knfilters.com/search/product.aspx?Prod=69-6012TS ).

K & N Claims a 25 HP increase with thier stubby little CAI where as the AEM that looks more like a true CAI only will provide an increase of 14hp. There are dyno charts up showing these numbers but my question is how reliable are these numbers they are providing? I have had an AEM intake in the past on my mazda 6 and was really happy with that product. Which is why i am more inclined to perchase another one of their products but not if its going to cost me 10hp up against the K & N.

Any insite out there on which product to go with?

The K & N looks like a much more friendly install also...

horto
06-13-2010, 11:39 PM
cobb? corksport? cpe?

http://cobbtuning.com/info/?id=4935

Snotrocket
06-14-2010, 12:21 AM
cobb? corksport? cpe?

http://cobbtuning.com/info/?id=4935

Any one better then the other or is it all just prefrence?

philipfreire
06-14-2010, 12:31 AM
Honestly. Its all the same. Its all pipe and a filter. It isnt anything really high tech.

I'd say the K&N or any other brand that can go from CAI to SRI for winter modes.

Broxn
06-14-2010, 08:01 AM
From what I have found (and trust me I've been looking) only a select number of the above mentioned manufacturers have done any 2010 "tweeking" so be careful who you go with. K&N have made changes to the 2010 typhoon so you won't have any issues.
I was interested in the K&N till I saw the price tag. So I'll be going with another manufacturer who has bothered to make some adjustments for 2010.

horto
06-14-2010, 12:43 PM
FWIW most of us are running the cobb SF on our 2007-2009's. A few cpe nano's.