PDA

View Full Version : suspension question...

thenightvision88
11-22-2012, 05:20 AM
I bought my car not to long ago (08 3 GT) and my struts are done... every time I hit a big bump the car goes nuts and bounces around...

First question... Will I void my warranty if I was to change my struts for a quick strut from lets say Monroe by myself? or does it have to be from a dealer or mechanic? it would just save me time and money seeing as I'm a student...

Second question... on the drivers side I hear a popping sound when I hit a bump but the strut on this side isn't as bad as the other side... could it just be the strut? or a ball joint? or maybe a result from my accident they overlooked? :(

I should mention I only have 59XXX kms on my car and I bought the extended warranty. (Good until march 2015) At the time I bought it had 55XXX kms on it.

Sorry if if this has been asked before

Impressive
11-22-2012, 06:54 AM
The popping noise is most likely your strut mount being broken...very common on these cars.

Aitch
11-22-2012, 07:26 AM
It has been answered in various forms. Changing the struts will only void the warrantee on the struts, i.e. they will now only be covered by wherever you buy them from, not Mazda. They could be *******s and then not cover problems in related areas (like wheel bearings) but a) a decent dealership won't do this to you and b) replacing with stock-like struts isn't going to cause extra problems anyway.

thenightvision88
11-22-2012, 02:17 PM
is it common for these struts to go at 60k kms?

Aitch
11-22-2012, 03:09 PM
Not unheard of if it was driven hard. Plus it is over 4 years old.

wmzda5
12-25-2012, 05:32 PM
I know that suspension and other wear items are not covered by warranty after the first year. Ajax Mazda replaced my left rear shocks even before 6 months of ownership.

Aitch
12-25-2012, 08:23 PM
ZOMBIE THREAD BUMP

Hyperion
12-25-2012, 08:31 PM
ZOMBIE THREAD BUMP

Acknowledging it doesn't help :p

TheMAN
12-26-2012, 02:57 AM