PDA

View Full Version : Buying 2006 Mazda3 2.3l sedan, what issues to look for ...

NIKNEJM
12-12-2013, 03:33 PM
Hello frends.
My name is Vojo. I'm here on forum for a first time.
My wife an me are planing to buy a car, and 2006 Mazda 3 2.3l appeared. Since this should be our first car (we are new comers) I am asking you, people on the forum, to give us some advice when buying this car.
I have read on the Internet that this model of Mazda 3 have certain issues with oil consumption in their 2.3l engines. Is that true and on what Km amount we have to expect this issue and how to find out if this is already happening?
Are there any other issues, except rust problems, that I could expect with this model?
Note, I have some knowledge in mechanics so I believe that I will understand any technical term that you throw at me, even in English. ;)
Thank you in advance for answers.

JonsMazda
12-12-2013, 03:37 PM
What is your budget?

Sonic31
12-12-2013, 03:57 PM
Check the passenger motor mount, common failure problem. Look for for dark stains on the aluminum mount.

That, really has been the only real problem I have had with mine (2006 Mazda 3 2.3L, 5 pd Auto, 260K).

Everything else has been common wear stuff, brakes, one bearing, thermostat, exhaust leak, rust...

Knock on wood, mine has been pretty much bullet proof so far.

NIKNEJM
12-12-2013, 04:48 PM
2 JonsMazda : We found one for 5200$ incl. tax. 150K, manual, really conserved one, no wear inside what so ever, seats are like new, etc. All in all, around 5000$ is the budget.
Only problem is that I am not in Canada yet, I am back in Europe for now. My wife is there, in Toronto, an she found this car. I was afraid to tell her to buy it because I haven't had any experience with Mazda what so ever, so I'm starting this thread. I had Ford Mondeo Caravan back in Europe, diesel, with some issues about this model about which I didn't know when I bought it, and which I met few months after. And there I learned to be careful.