PDA

View Full Version : 5SPD Tranny Shifting

AfterBurner
11-26-2004, 12:52 AM
I am new to manual transmission (this is my first manual car ever) and I am wondering how smooth is your shifting.

The hardest shifting for me is from 1st to 2nd as I feel something temporarily stopping the shifter from moving to 2nd. I would describe it as notchy but I am not sure if that is what notchy means. 2nd to 3rd to 4th to 5th are smooth as butter. The thing is that If the car is not moving (engine on but stopped) the shifting is smooth from 1st to 2nd.

Wondering if this is normal or what?

Saphress
11-26-2004, 08:25 AM
Ummm... from my personal experience, I don\'t think I\'ve come across a car where it wasn\'t harder shifting from first to second .... I\'d say it\'s normal. If you find it harder to shift and it\'s a long shift too... get a short shifter...

wtom
11-26-2004, 09:30 AM
This is my first year driving stick too but after learning back in July after picking up my first 3, I can say my shifting is good enough for everyday driving. Don\'t try to race me though cuz I\'ll lose for sure. :p

As for \"notchiness,\" I\'m not too sure what that term means either but I do think you feel what I feel when shifting from 1st to 2nd... it\'s as if the teeth don\'t click but at the same time you wouldn\'t think the synchronizers would be bad at all! I just pull it into 2nd a bit harder, but yes, going into 3rd, 4th, and 5th are smooth as butter.

I have some sound clips in the Pics and Vids section under Draxas Exhaust thread... high flow cat MP3 file is a recording of me going between 2nd, 3rd, and 4th if you\'re interested. I\'ve been told it\'s smooth. :p

Mayhem
11-26-2004, 01:58 PM