PDA

View Full Version : How soon to take off my winters?

MAZDA Kitten
03-21-2005, 11:17 PM
This is my first time with winter tires and Im just curious what is a general rule of thumb to take them off?
I was hoping this weekend but a lot of people have been recommending END OF APRIL??

Opinions please! :D

chaser
03-22-2005, 12:08 AM
I guess it all depends on the weather and how good the non-snow tires handle in snow. You may check out the statistic of Toronto weather (http://www.theweathernetwork.com/weather/stats/pages/C02017.htm) taken from 1961 to 1990 (wonder why they don\'t have more update one :sarc )
I think taking out the snow tires at the end of April would be a safe play. I\'d probably put my car back to summer mode in mid-April. :D

Whos ur dadd
03-22-2005, 12:22 AM
End of April would be too long, IMHO. As long as there\'s no more snow, you\'re good to go.

I usually have the summer tires on by early/mid-April. As long as it doesn\'t dip below freezing, the summer tires feel oh so much more stable than those dang winter tires.

majic
03-22-2005, 02:16 AM
i would say when you experience a week of +5C temps you would be ok to do so.. of course with our canadian weather there still could be a snowy day or something. From chaser\'s stats it looks like mid november to mid april and if you want to be safe, beginning of november to end of april :p

i guess play it by ear... now to think of it, having a separate winter and asummer tire screws up my tire rotation/oil change intervals.. grr.. :(

if you didn\'t get blizzaks (WS50s) or any other UBER soft tire, your winters will ride you through some early spring without much excessive wear.. just don\'t peel out ;)

bubba1983
03-22-2005, 03:59 AM
keep an eye on the temp...usually if its staying above 0 degrees, switch over, or ull eat thru them like crazy!

billyfo
03-22-2005, 07:54 AM